• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SpyderByte

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 22, 2017
    Indianapolis
    Apologize in advance for my terminology ignorance...but I am new to having optics ready handguns and have dot/picture alignment question.

I am going to assume that the dot is set to 25 yards from the factory and it seems that I am about 1" (or so) low when shooting at 10 yards...and that sounds normal, and OK for me, sort of.

But, if I decide to adjust the elevation to make it set for 10 yards instead, does the dot move from center in the sight image or is it just like adjustable rear iron sights and it effectively has you moving the barrel tip higher or lower? Again, sorry for improper wording.

G192127

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Feb 19, 2018
    Shelbyville
    What kind of dot, pistol, and caliber would be helpful for the best answer. I get the dot and barrel PARALLEL.
    I look at the bore and dot height on mine-on mine the center of the dot is 1" higher than the center of the bore(axis). That's 1 way of doing it. " I " have to make the elevation correction- not the dot. If I'm 1" low at 25 yes who cares? 2" low at 50 yds( hold up 2" on the target) At 100yds I have found I need to hold up about 4"... hope you get the idea.
    At 100yds I gotta dope the wind anyway, elevation too isn't a big deal.
    That's 1 way. ymmv

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    You didn't say what caliber you're shooting, or how your dot is mounted (height over bore of the dot will play into the calculation), but a few months back I used the Federal Ballistics calculator to crunch some numbers around point of aim vs. point of impact for 9mm using red dots zeroed at 10 / 15 / 25 yards. You can see all the results here.