• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 10-32

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2011
    B-Burg
    Other than being able to see how many rounds are left in the mag, is there really any advantage to having a mag with a window on it?

I'm new to the AR as far as private ownership goes and was just wondering which would be better to invest my money in.

aclark

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    The 219
    I have no exp with the windowed, but see no reason for it. When I need to change the mag, I will. Other than that, I see it as another fail point on an important part.

Thegeek

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2013
    Indianapolis
    "I know what you're thinking. Did he fire six shots or only five? Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement, I've kinda lost track myself. But being as this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, and would blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya punk?" - Harry Callahan.

^^^ That's why.

Faine

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 2, 2012
    Indy (South Side)
    I've heard they come in handy in certain situations, training I particular. I don't know that I have heard any disadvantages to having a windowed but the advantages like I said seem to be situational.

jotto

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 26, 2011
    NW Indiana
    For the typical user there is no real advantage to having a window. If you shoot 3 gun they come in a little handy. Nothing game changing but nice.

aclark

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    The 219