• Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Which would you have TWO of, AK or M1A?

• Total voters

M67

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 15, 2011
    Southernish Indiana
    Had 2 AKs, sold them, cause they're a PITA to suppress and thought the platform was overrated.

Never had a M1A (but have a Garand and M1 Carbine), but again, PITA to suppress and never thought the M1A was the end all be all answer (like the love the Garands and Carbines get too)

So.......optic or suppressor. Or 3rd AR

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    I have zero experience with the M1A (never even shot one) and minimal expertise with the AK platform, so my opinion probably comes from a different place than others.

If it were me, I'd get another AK first. Why? Let's look at the major reasons to own two of the same gun:

-To be able to hand to a friend or family member if things get really hairy.
    -To have a second gun in case the primary goes down.

In either instance, the AK makes more sense to me. You could hand it to a 10 year old and they could learn the platform in a couple of hours. It's also the poster child for being able to strip down and cannibalize if parts on the primary fail.

Just my :twocents:

Prometheus

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    Wow lots of votes for the M1A.

I'm a huge fan of the M1A but for me it's a "one and done" rifle. AK's, AR's? They are like potato chips, you can't have just one.