• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • xilegend

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2015
    Speedway
    Yes I am new to the reloading world, and yes, yes, yes, and yes. My question deals with all the various powder choices. Working with 45acp loads. keeping it simple at first with 230g fmj bullets. Due to pistol powder outage, a friend was nice enough to sell me some Alliant Power Pistol. Most post I have read deal with the Win 231 powder, so I am just curious as to what kind of results I should expect. Reference material says 6.4 - 7.2, thinking of starting with 6.6 or 6.8
    Thanx

87iroc

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 25, 2012
    Bartholomew County
    Welcome to the forum!

Always start at the minimum charge and work your way up. I have a jug of Power Pistol but haven't opened it yet so I can't comment.

You're over by Profire, you could swing by and talk to them. Might be able to find some powder. I was just at Atterbury and they have a bunch of titegroup and primers...but not much else.

I started with Titegroup last April as its all I could find. I have been picking up a jug here and there to expand my collection. On Titegroup I know you have be be very careful not to double charge a case.

MTN

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 3, 2014
    Laporte Co.
    I used power pistol for 9mm and it worked good. I used 5.7 gr to start, good sized fireball at a indoor range.

I would start at the lowest start wieght and work your way up from there.

Just bought a pound of bullseye to start my .45 reloading.

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009
    Power Pistol is a little slow for 45 ACP, but still suitable. Best to stick with heavy bullets like the 230gr FMJ's you have. One good thing is you're not likely to be able to double-charge a case without overflowing, but don't quote me on that.