• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mr. Neal

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    May 7, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    I'm fairly new to reloading and im wanting to branch out from the few powders I've been reloading with the last few months since I started reloading.. I was wanting to get some advice on what powders are good to reload in .357 mag.?

billybob44

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    385   0   0
    Sep 22, 2010
    In the Man Cave
    Depends??

The .357 has a wide range of great powder combinations..
    Cast bullets: Bullseye, W-W-231/Hodgdons HP-38,TiteGroup, Unique, etc.
    Jacketed bullets: Some of the same+ 2400,Hodgdon HS-6, H-110/W-W-296, etc.
    I use a lot of the load data from Hodgdon's Load Data web site..
    BTW: On your "Warm" jacketed bullets, it is VERY important to have a FIRM roll crimp, for complete performance+to avoid "Bullet Jump" on revolvers!! Bill.

parson

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Nov 1, 2008
    New Castle
    I typically use 231 for light to medium loads, and 296 for full power loads. 2400 is more flexible than 296 in the medium to high range.

BE Mike

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    New Albany
    I used some of Alliant's Power Pistol in some hot jacketed loads for my .357. It really burns clean and I get a lot of velocity for not too high of pressures. It really works well for jacketed 9mm loads. It isn't so great for cast bullet loads. One other powder I've been using for mild cast bullet .357 loads is Alliant's American Select. It also is clean burning and is a good substitute for Alliant Bullseye. As you can probably tell, I'm a fan of Alliant smokeless powders.

45-70

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2008
    Cale