• ...and so much more!
  • Crydaddy

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Dec 30, 2011
    Fort Wayne
    Hello!
    First off: i do not have any experience with sport shooting but would like to start doing 3 gun. I was thinking practical shooting would be the first step.

Can you guys recommend a class close to fort wayne that caters to total noobs that want to start the sport?

ACT has a class sched in march but is. 3 hrs away from me. I will be attending this if i do not find a class close to me.

- would a compact handgun be sufficient for a beginners class?
    Ty!

DustyDawg48

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    May 11, 2010
    Mount Vernon
    First, kudos to you for stepping out and getting into the incredibly fun world of action-shooting. It is a small step into a much bigger world and you'll be the better for the experience.

I would search for any IDPA shoot nearest you and simply contact the match director. Let them know you are a novice at the shooting games and they will be sure to pair you with some experienced shooters to help you along. The biggest thing is just being safe; keep your finger off of the trigger until your sites are on the target and watch that you don't muzzle yourself or any other shooter and keep the weapon pointed downrange at all times. It's the same basic rules for any firearm, it's just mixed in with the stress and fun of competition. If you can slow yourself down and be completely safe while learning the game, then you may not need an intro class. Any club worth their salt will welcome new shooters with open arms and get them into the squad to help them get their feet wet in a safe and positive environment.

As far as a compact being good, it will serve you well until you decide what changes to make after shooting a few matches. I have a few friends that shoot compacts in IDPA since that is what they tend to carry in the real world. I shoot full-size pistols but I also carry those same full-sized guns myself.