• ...and so much more!
  • 8th SPS USAF

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 8, 2011
    Hobart , In
    I have had problems with early CCI.,Rem is the worst IMO. Fed all the way
    then Win. Never would try Wolf. Don't buy the cheapest primer. What are you shooting it in. Rev-stock,tricked out, Semi auto?

O'Shark

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 2, 2011
    Ladoga, IN
    I've been reloading since 1987 and I have never used any brand other than Winchester (small rifle) or CCI (SR, SP, LP). I've never had a failure from either brand. I just can't bring myself to try anything different when what I have are 100% reliable.

Rob377

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 30, 2008
    DT
    depends on what you're using them for. Remington 1 1/2 primers are pretty soft, making them well suited to a tricked out target gun with reduced power striker or hammer springs. But that makes them flow way too much if you're loading hot 40, 357 Sig, 10mm etc. I bought a bunch because i got a deal and found out through experience they're just not well suited for those cartridges.

I like CCI primers. They hold up well to hot 10mm, 45 Super and some of the other hotter cartridges I've loaded. Takes alot to get them to flow or flatten. You also have to take that into account when working up a load, since you may be well over max and those CCI primers might not show those early pressure signs like a softer primer would.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    I've used Win, CCI, Wolf in SP. Win. CCI LR SR without any issues
    I bought 10,000 SR military pulled primers at Knob Creek. 99% of them go boom every time in my Savage 10 FP and my AR.

Wolfhound

Hired Goon
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    45   0   0
    Apr 11, 2011
    Henry County