• ...and so much more!
  • Buckeye911

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 15, 2015
    NEW PALESTINE
    I am new to the reloading game.

Last week I loaded some new loads for my 9mm. I used 800-x powder with 4.5 grains.

I had some issues today trying out the loads. Out of the 100 ro so that I shot I experienced way too many stove pipes, and cycling issues. In fact, many times the last shot failed to lock the slide open when the magazine was empty.

Help me out. What could cause this? Was the load too low?

The ballistics data from Hodgdon 4.5- 5.3gr.

SEIndSAM

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    May 14, 2011
    Ripley County
    I am new to the reloading game.

Last week I loaded some new loads for my 9mm. I used 800-x powder with 4.5 grains.

I had some issues today trying out the loads. Out of the 100 ro so that I shot I experienced way too many stove pipes, and cycling issues. In fact, many times the last shot failed to lock the slide open when the magazine was empty.

Help me out. What could cause this? Was the load too low?

The ballistics data from Hodgdon 4.5- 5.3gr.

Yeah, 4.5 grains was the starting load. I would have loaded a minmum 10-20 rounds at 4.5, 10-20 rounds at 4.7, 10-20 at 4.9 and 10-20 at 5.1. Then see which load cycles the best with the least amount of powder.

Buckeye911

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 15, 2015
    NEW PALESTINE
    What grain/type bullet are you using and what gun?

115 gr 9mm, cp Kimber gold match

I think I learned a good lesson to do some test loads. The powder was given to me when I got the press so I used it. I may switch to tightgroup powder. I have a lot of the TG and I will do more test loads??!!

Thanks

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    9mm in general shoot better at the higher end of thr load data. I never had one where reduced loads gave better accuracy or function. Put more coals to that fire.