• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HuntingBear

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 29, 2013
    Greenwood
    Can anyone comment about the quality of the rifles being manufactured by PTR? They are launching the PTR 91 at the Shot Show next week. Preliminary information indicate it is a good substitute for the "hard to get" HK91. I do not have much experience with PTR. I applaud them for leaving Connecticut and relocating their business in South Carolina. Any one have some first hand experience with their other rifles and manufacturing quality?

223 Gunner

Master
    Rating - 100%
    201   0   0
    Jan 7, 2009
    Red Sector A
    I'm not an expert, but I thought that they are all HK parts on a U.S. receiver made by PTR. I think they assemble them from de-milled parts kits on their receiver and then finish them with a tougher finish than the original HK's.
    They are supposed to be really nice rifles. Vector also made a quality "clone", they are no longer in business but can be had on the used market from time to time.

Gordy

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 28, 2013
    Newton Co.
    They are a good rifle and or pistol for a semi auto .308. Great toy. You can find mags for about $2. each in bulk. DO NOT BUY a CETME if you're expecting PTR or HK quality. CETME is not adjustable for windage. I've got several PTR's and I like them. They are reliable and reasonably priced. They have a conventional rifled barrels and not the polygonal HK barrels if that is important to you. I have one that is scoped by haven't put much time behind that one.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    PTR91 has been around for a long time. It is a excellent battle rifle. I have never considered it to be a toy.

There is one for sale in the classifieds.

kalboy

Master
    Site Supporter
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    Jun 10, 2009
    S Indiana