• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • nucone

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 23, 2012
    Arkansas in the Ozarks
    I have decided to get a progressive press due to the volume I am shooting and reloading 350-500 rounds per week (multiple calibers rifle and pistol combined). I am currently using a single stage press and those pistol cartridges are becoming tiresome. The cartridges I intend to load on the progressive are .223, 9mm, 380ACP, 38 Spcl, 357 magnum, and 40S&W. I use several powders for these cartridges including flake, stick, and ball. Having used some friends Dillon 550's both with and without the casefeeder, I have decided I really like that feature.

I have narrowed my choices to either the Hornady LnL AP with case feeder or the Dillon XL650 with the casefeeder. I have been researching this for several months now and my head is about to explode reading and watching various reviews and trying to discern whether some of the problems identified are with the machine or with the user. My friends that have the Dillons the Hornady AP like them a lot and highly recommend their presses. The only complaint I have heard from my friends concerning either press relates to the Dillon Square Deal spilling powder when progressing to the next stage particularly with 9mm and this seems to be applicable to the XL650 as well.

There are features that I both like and dislike about both presses and at this point could go for either and probably be happy. With that in mind, if you own or have used extensively either of the presses in question I would like your input in reaching my decision. Many of these questions relate to sorting out fact from fiction in various on-line reviews.

For the Hornady LnL AP:
    1) Have you experienced powder metering problems? If so, was it limited to a particular powder or powder type?