• ...and so much more!
  • defender14

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 15, 2011
    Fishers
    Hello :ingo:

So I have been shooting my first handgun (9mm) for about 4 months now, and I really want to get a 22lr handgun so that I can work on marksmanship for far less ammo cost.

Ideally the 22lr handgun with be a semi automatic pistol, I don't shoot revolvers and don't plan to in the future (but that could always change :))

Recently my wife and I have been making an effort to buy American made products as often as possible, and I definitely feel an American made firearm would be a great purchase.

I really would like to have a threaded barrel also so when I finally start the process to get a suppressor I don't have to go through too much pain.

Also I would like it to not be too heavy on cost, under $400 would be ideal.

So far all I can find is the Ruger 22/45 Threaded Barrel handgun. This does look like a nice firearm, but I am curious if there are any other options.

It seems the three 22lr handguns with a threaded barrel that I see the most are: GSG 1911, Sig Mosquito, and the Walther P22. GSG and Walther are definitely not American made and it seems that the Sig Mosquito is not either (but I could be wrong).

I am also curious about non threaded options. I was really interested in the Smith and Wesson M&P 22, but when I found out that it was made by Walther I was disappointed. I think most if not all of the other M&P pistols are made in the USA and I was hoping the m&P 22 would be too.

Is there anything that I am overlooking, semi auto 22lr pistol made in the USA for under $400, preferably with a threaded barrel?

kludge

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    You could always have a barrel threaded. The uinthreaded version with Cocobolo grips comes in uner $300 usually.

Also check out aftermarket barrels... I think it's called Pac-Lite or something like that. Will help the weight, if that matters.

G_Stines

Expert