• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SpyderByte

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 22, 2017
    Indianapolis
    Hi all. Got a question about a couple red dot sights I have and the type lens on them seem to be a bit different even though the two sights look almost identical.

I have a Crimson Trace CTS-1500 (per paperwork) with a stated 5MOA that came on my M&P. The other is a purchased CTS-1550 with a stated 3MOA. The lens on the 1550 appears to have a shimmer and the dot is a little crisper but the 1500 appears to be a clear lens and the 5MOA is a bit "starburst" look.

Sooooo, is the shimmer the reason the 3MOA is more crisp as opposed to the clear lens, or is a larger MOA causing this? I am very new to red dots. Thx.

(PS, moved this from incorrect forum section to this one.)

dudley0

Nobody Important
    Rating - 100%
    99   0   0
    Mar 19, 2010
    Grant County
    Not familiar with that line of CT. I would set both to the same intensity and check them. The smaller dot will be a bit clearer from what I have heard.

Sounds like the lens has been coated, thus the shimmer you see.

I know that when I set the brightness up higher I have more chance of getting a starburst with my RDS.

cedartop

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 25, 2010
    North of Notre Dame.
    Have never seen a Crimson Trace unit so it is hard to say for sure. For me given equal brightness settings, a larger dot is always clearer, it is one of the reasons I have went to using larger dots. Really it could be any number of things, mini RDS are really still in development.

SpyderByte

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 22, 2017
    Indianapolis
    Not familiar with that line of CT. I would set both to the same intensity and check them. The smaller dot will be a bit clearer from what I have heard.

Sounds like the lens has been coated, thus the shimmer you see.