• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • louielouie

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 22, 2009
    Columbus, IN.
    Anyone who has a Nagant pistol knows that the 7.62x38R ammunition for it is extremely expensive.

I know it was about 10 years ago when I read an article in Shotgun News by John Malloy. He said that part of the time he shot .32 Smith&Wesson Long in his Nagant. He even reloaded for it.

You can buy .32S&W long ammo for less than the Nagant 7.62x38R ammo. You can reload it for about 1/3 the cost of new ammo.

I studied it and found that the .32 S&W long has almost exactly the same outer dimensions except for the length (which doesn’t matter since it is shorter than the Nagant cylinder).
    The Nagant ammo does have a little bit of taper to it. This will eventually cause the .32S&W to split at the neck, so keep an eye on it.

Here is my reloading data. After shooting the 32 S&W Long round you can use regular 32 S&W Long dies to reload the brass.

Bullets- .308 to .314 inch will work and lead SEMI-wad-cutters seat easily.
    Start with the lightest load recommended for 32S&W Long and the bullet you are using.

I used a .314 inch diameter, 98 gr. Lead, SEMI-wad-cutter and 1.7 gr. Of Winchester W231. The load functioned just fine and the mouth of the case didn’t split until it was reloaded 3 or 4 times.

I hope someone finds this useful.

louielouie

Last edited:

Clay

Grandmaster
    Rating - 98.8%
    81   1   0
    Aug 28, 2008
    Vigo Co
    I think you can even buy a new cylinder for the pistol that is made for 32 S&W which should make your brass last longer.

louielouie

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 22, 2009
    Columbus, IN.
    Clay,
    I have seen those cylinders from time to time. I have never seen any reviews on them.

I guess the appeal of the .32 S&W long is that you can use the Nagant revolver as it is.