Reloading shotgun question (complete Noob)

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TWalker

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 31, 2010
    New Castle
    I bought a FN SLP and more recently a Versamax. I am hoping to shoot 3 gun next season. I've never ran a shotgun when reloading with speed was important. Basically, I have no idea what I'm doing. I've been watching YouTube videos as my only "formal training" :facepalm: and trying the whole monkey see monkey do approach.

I'm practicing quad loading and running into difficulty with reloading from slide lock. The FN doesn't have the shell release button like the Versamax and thats where the confusion starts. I'm okay reloading when there is already a round in the chamber. It seems the no brainer would be to avoid slide lock and reload throughout instead of just shooting till I'm empty. However, I know that counting rounds while shooting with speed is difficult. Slide lock will happen so I want to train/prepare for it. Any suggestions? Do people running a shotgun reload though out a stage or wait until empty? I realize that these are very basic questions and perhaps I should be more knowledgeable before I try to compete. If that is the case please point me in the right direction. I'm willing to learn.

FishnHunt

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 18, 2013
    Churubusco
    It seems the no brainer would be to avoid slide lock and reload throughout instead of just shooting till I'm empty.