• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • downzero

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 16, 2010
    I originally wrote this as a blog post, so it doesn't quite fit the forum. And for the record, I am not a lawyer. Do not take this as legal advice. I'm just a guy who likes reading the law and analyzing its consequences. Don't go being an idiot and getting yourself involved in fights with cops because of what I've argued here. It probably won't help you and I sure as hell can't.
    At common law, a person was privileged to resist an unlawful arrest. See Gross v. State, 186 Ind. 581, 583, 117 N.E. 562, 564 (1917). Our courts, however, have uniformly accepted that this common law rule is outmoded in today‟s modern society. See Fields v. State, 178 Ind. App. 350, 355, 382 N.E.2d 972, 975 (1978) (holding that a private citizen may not use force or resist a peaceful arrest by one he knows or has good reason to believe is an authorized officer perform-ing his duties, regardless of whether the arrest is legal or illegal); accord Dora v. State, 783 N.E.2d 322, 327 (Ind. Ct. App. 2003), trans. denied; Shoultz v. State, 735 N.E.2d 818, 823 (Ind. Ct. App. 2000), trans. denied. In 1976, the Legislature, recognizing this modern trend, enacted the resisting law enforcement statute, Indiana Code section 35-44-3-3, which makes it a crime to “(1) forcibly resist[], obstruct[], or interfere[] with a law enforcement officer or a person assist-ing the officer while the officer is lawfully engaged in the execution of the officer‟s duties[.]”

The Indiana Supreme court seems convinced that statute has modified the common law doctrine that allowed citizens to resist an "unlawful arrest." They do so by (wrongly, as I found out later) reading their own precedents, which by their own quote, require that the officer is "lawfully engaged in the execution of the officer's duties."