• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • brogers261990

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 21, 2016
    Flora
    Hey folks, I'm looking to invest in a Ruger 10/22 in the near future and have a question I am looking for some help on. I've got the choice between the standard 10/22 or the takedown model. While I do like the takedown model, is there any chance that my accuracy could be compromised by having a barrel that is designed to come off / back on readily? I know that to an extent, barrels are designed to be able to be changed out, but I haven't heard much feedback on any differences in performance between models.

EvilElmo

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Feb 11, 2009
    Dearborn Co.
    No comment on the accuracy because I have no experience with the takedown model, but one thing to consider is what kind of customization you want to do to the rifle. I haven't done any research personally but I would think your stock options are far fewer with the takedown model, for example.

Last edited:

TJ Kackowski

Let it begin here.
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   1
    Jun 8, 2012
    Hendricks County
    If you search the forums, you'll find plenty of discussion about this very topic.

In a nutshell, there's no loss of zero or accuracy with a Ruger 10/22 takedown for field shooting and plinking. If you're a bulls-eye shooter ... well ... you won't be satisfied with the results.

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 7, 2011
    Jeffersonville
    I have a takedown, and love it.

EvilElmo has a good point - the stock being unique from the standard 10/22 does alter your options. I have seen people cut many stocks to fit however, and I believe the Hogue overmolded is now offered for the takedown also.