• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    For those of you not already aware, I picked up a 10/22 at the 1500 a few weeks ago:

I took it out to Hamilton County Fish and Game today to give it a bit of a shakedown. On the whole I was pleased with its performance. It's very difficult to miss your target unless you're trying to miss.

The following image is after shooting from an unsupported standing position at around 25-30 yards.

This one is seated at the same distance. Left arm supported on bench.

I am a relative novice with a rifle, but as you can see, even with just iron sights, the rifle is easy to shoot accurately. In the second image, the three black shoot-n-see dots were all hit with each shot (I hadn't shot the fourth yet, and the other stray shots on the paper were from the previous shooter).

The biggest problem I had was feeding issues with the ammo. I was using both 10 and 25 round Butler Steel-Lips magazines, first with Federal and then with Remington (both bulk packs). The Remington, generally, fed better although I still had issues. Both types had numerous stovepipes and feeding jams. I'm hoping that after the rifle shakes out a little it will start to run better.

Per our recent discussion regarding the 10/22 stock trigger: I can definitely see what you mean about the trigger sucking now. I may have to invest in a two-stage trigger after all. After only 100 rounds or so, my finger was already starting to get sore and the lack of draw was starting to get annoying. Also, the magazines are much more difficult to load than, for example, my P22. I may need to invest in a speed loader of some sort as well.

I also picked up a Mueller APV 4x14 40 scope which should be here on Monday. I'm looking forward to trying it out on the 100 and 150 yard lanes at HCF&G.

Last edited:

slacker

Master
    Rating - 0%