• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • maarlborogto

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 26, 2010
    Is it true that i can shoot 5.56 in a ruger mini 14 without damage? I have heard mixed things like the 5.56 has to be domestic and it can damage the rifle and ive heard that certain models will only shoot 5.56 can somone enlightin me on the issue???????????????????????????

gunman41mag

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 1, 2011
    SOUTH of YOU
    Is it true that i can shoot 5.56 in a ruger mini 14 without damage? I have heard mixed things like the 5.56 has to be domestic and it can damage the rifle and ive heard that certain models will only shoot 5.56 can somone enlightin me on the issue???????????????????????????

I've been shooting my MINI-14 for over 15 years & never had any issues with ammo, only with cheap aftermarket mags, I shoot all & any type of 5.56x45 or 223 rem. but remember the mini-14 likes the 55 grain ammo not the heavy 69 to 75 grains ammo:twocents:

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    My Ruger mini14 is stamped with .223, my cousin has one that is stamped with 5.56. .223 can be safely fired in one designed for 5.56 but a 5.56 should not be shot out of one designed for .223. Here is a wikipedia link, feel free to look up other sources to confirm.

.223 Remington - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

But the Ruger Mini-14 owners manual says that they can fire both no matter how they're marked.

Ruger's big mistake, however, is telling folks that 5.56 Nato = .223 Rem.

gunman41mag

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 1, 2011
    SOUTH of YOU