• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • clhettinger

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 1, 2010
    Lafayette
    Are there any thoughts on the 642? I have no shooting experience in the small revolver realm so any input would be appreciated on how it shoots. I'm looking for the purpose of concealed carry but still want to be able to enjoy shooting it.

As for the Ruger, I'm looking for the same purpose (but not interested in shooting 357 magnums). Would the added weight/size be a hindrance to carry? I'm thinking IWB or ankle holster.

VERT

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 4, 2009
    Seymour
    The extra weight of the SP101 is going to make it a lot easier to shoot. But that weight comes with a price. I personally think the SP101 would be a bit too heavy for pocket or ankle carry. With a good belt it would be perfect OWB or IWB.

The Smith 642 is an awesome pocket gun. The hammerless/centenial style guns are not going to snag on clothing. Light weight will be more comfortable to carry. These guns beg to be carried a lot and shot little.

I am sure I haven't told you anything you didn't already know. But if you want a shooter then go SP101 if you want an ankle gun go with the Smith.

bstewrat3

Master
    Rating - 100%
    142   0   0
    Apr 26, 2009
    Beech Grove
    I haven't shot the SP101 but I have had the 642 and it is manageable with target ammo, but it can be a handful when using the +P. If you are going to spend more time shooting than carrying get the SP101 but if light weight is more important go with the Smith.

X ring

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 11, 2010
    I carry the Fedral Nyclad ammo in my model 637(exposed hammer). Do a search and read a little about it, controlable recoil with plenty of knock down power and good expansion. I really like this combination for the "airweight" frame.

combat45acp

Master
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 27, 2010