• ...and so much more!
  • PTinbound

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    DeMotte
    Hey all,
    I graduated from the school of the mechanically DECLINED but I also really want to convert a Saiga 12. First question: With the process, can they accept normal AK stocks? I have an AK and I put on this AMAZING recoil reducing stock for it; now my wife and daughter who were afraid of the AK recoil will shoot it. Here it is: AKS-161 - AK-47 Collapsible Shock Absorbing Buttstock MAKO Black 8 Position Reinforced Polymer Lighweight and Rugged
    I'd love to put this on a Saiga 12 conversion. Can I make it work?

Next, I'm a little afraid to tackle this project. Has anyone else who is not mechanically inclined been able to do it? Also, anyone in NWI near me willing to give me a hand? Or have a conversion party? Thanks in advance for the replies. I hear a Saiga 12 with a 20 round drum is great for bird hunting :):

mammynun

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Oct 30, 2009
    New Albany
    If the stock will fit on a "standard" AK, it will fit on a Saiga 12. You may have to file the area that goes into the receiver a bit, neither AK's or Saiga's are known for tight tolerances.

As to whether you can do the conversion, I'd be willing to bet that you can. Go slow, and if you have a question or issue, be willing to stop what your doing and ask for help or a second opinion. I'd offer to do it with you, but I'm in New Albany.

I say "Go for it," but you know exactly how dis-inclined you are....

EDIT: Since the Saiga 12 is a semi-auto the recoil is greatly reduced when compared to a pump/SxS/etc shotgun. The stock you linked may not be necessary. Might not hold up to the Saiga either, but that's speculation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KpdkENStLM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkD2YrTX0-U

Last edited:
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Aug 14, 2009
    Salem