• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 1861navy

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2013
    Hello, I bought a new saiga 7.62 last October new in box from registered dealer. It came with manual, Russian certification, 10 rd. Mag and gun lock. Had my first chance to try to shoot it today, but it didn't chamber a round.
    I thought okay strange, so I pulled back slowly on retracting mechanism and looked between the gap that's created by it and the safety.
    I noticed the tip of the fmj round was pointing down, and was located about 1/8-1/4 inch away from the chamber, under the trunnion. The back of the round was just a froghair away from the bolt, but just enough it wouldn't catch or feed the round. What's going on?
    P.S. I'm relatively new to the saiga's, but it seems like the wrong magazine, but it came with the gun. Many thanks in advance!

TheWabbit

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 9, 2011
    In my lair
    Can you post several pics of your internals and the problem? When you inserted the magazine, did you push all the way until you heard a click?

Atlas

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Aug 5, 2012
    the mag is new and likely you are not pushing it deep enough when you are trying to latch it in. I had the same problem with my saiga at first, but I noticed the mag wasn't fully in before firing.

chezuki

Human
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    Mar 18, 2009
    Behind Bars
    Is this Saiga converted or still in that craptastic "sporter" setup? Does this rifle have the bullet guide installed?

This.

Are you using a Saiga mag, or ak mag? An AK and no bullet guide would produce the results you described.

AK on left, Saiga on right for reference...

405236077.jpg

1861navy

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2013