• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MilitaryArms

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 19, 2008
    Ok, I've had a couple of people tell me that I can't legally remove the stock from my Glock 17 SBR. I have a Mako Group quick detach stock on my G17 SBR. It can be removed easily without tools.

It's my understanding that I can remove the stock from it legally and replace it any time I like. If I read the FAQ on the ATF website correctly, I can even remove the stock and transport the firearm across state lines as a handgun as long as I do not have the parts with me to convert it back into a SBR.

I have no plans to transport the Glock out of state, that's not the point of my question. I just want to know if I'm wrong in my view that I can legally add and remove my stock at will.

JollyMon

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Sep 27, 2012
    Westfield, IN
    Im not an expert by any means so if anyone knows better let me know. What I am questioning is that it was my understanding that once a pistol is converted to an rifle, it is always a rifle. So I wouldn't think that removing the stock would make it compliant the barrel will still be less then 16 inches.

OneBadV8

Stay Picky my Friends
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Aug 7, 2008
    Ft Wayne
    I just want to know if I'm wrong in my view that I can legally add and remove my stock at will.

It's a registered SBR. I think you're ok adding and removing the stock. But without the stock, its still an SBR and not a pistol.

I think that's what you were asking.

MilitaryArms

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 19, 2008
    It's a registered SBR. I think you're ok adding and removing the stock. But without the stock, its still an SBR and not a pistol.

I think that's what you were asking.

Yes, that is what I am asking and thank you.