• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DarrenL

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 3, 2014
    East-Central
    I have a very nice factory AR in 300BLK with a 14.7" barrel and pinned flash hider to be a legal 16", but I would really like to go SBR with it. Is there any legal way to go SBR without having to engrave my trust info on the lower? I could buy a new complete upper or just a new barrel for it, but would really like to avoid engraving, if at all possible. Thanks in advance!

Darren

Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013
    If you buy a factory SBR like from a gun store as in a form 4 then no, but if you are the manufacturer i.e. do a form 1 then some engraving is required... I am completely new to the NFA world but this is my understanding and I am sure others will be along shortly.

magic man

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    31   0   1
    Mar 7, 2010
    NWI
    If you buy a factory SBR like from a gun store as in a form 4 then no, but if you are the manufacturer i.e. do a form 1 then some engraving is required... I am completely new to the NFA world but this is my understanding and I am sure others will be along shortly.

:+1:

Here's the requirement for engraving. If you just want to avoid engraving the lower specifically you could also engrave the barrel. If you wanted to use multiple SBR uppers on that lower you'd have to get each one engraved also.

1) On the Frame or Receiver the Serial number;

2) on the frame, receiver, or barrel the following additional information;

A)The model;

B)The caliber or gage;

C)Your name or name of the Trust in the case of a Trust (no abbreviations are permitted for the Trust name);

D)The city and state (you can abbreviate the state with the official 2 digit state code)

Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013
    :+1: