• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jross1

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 28, 2010
    I am a college student in central indiana and recently had someone attempt to break into my house. I am currently looking to purchase a handgun to keep around the house for protection. I am just curious as to some suggestions about what to buy. Keep in mind that I am a college student on a tight budget. If you spot any good deals or have anything let me know. I just need something that will get the job done if the time ever comes again. Thanks for your help.

Andre46996

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 3, 2010
    Hammond
    Best defensive firearm for inside a home is a shotgun in my opinion. If you are not looking for a EDC gun I would look into a pump style shotgun.

JohnP82

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 2, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    I know alot of people like to bash them, but on a tight budget I have to say I like the Hi Point C9. I have a couple Hi Points and I would trust my life to them anyday. Accurate, reliable (I have yet to have a malfunction of any kind with well over 1000 rounds fired with my Hi Point), and very easy on the wallet. You should be able to find one for around 150 bucks. To most they are not pretty (I actually dont mind the way the C9 looks), lower capacity compared to other makes and models, and kind of heavy but they do get the job done.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    If you think a handgun is the answer to your fears, a 38 special revolver made by S&W, Colt, or Ruger with a 4 inch barrel will certainly get the job done.

Also, all of the above are available used as well. Check out the INGO classifieds. The last S&W model 10 that I bought, I paid $250 for it. I have a couple of K frames that I paid far less than that for them.

Get some training too.