• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wakproductions

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 19, 2012
    Indianapolis
    I'm new to reloading. Was doing 12ga 1 1/8 oz shot reloads when I had to open a new batch of plastic wads. Discovered that I bought the wrong kind of wads and that the newly opened batch was 1 oz. They were the same height, but slightly smaller cup for the bb's. I tried putting them through my reloader to see if that made a difference but had some problems crimping due to the smaller cup size.

I tried to disassemble the 3 or 4 shells on the assembly line to redo them by pulling out the wads, but discovered that these wads also seemed to be lodged into the hulls tighter than the previous kind I was using. Whereas the previous batch of wads I could pull out using a pair of pliers the newer wad was lodged in so good I had to cut the plastic hull with scissors to get it out.

Question: If for whatever reason I put a wad into the shell too tight - do I have to worry about my shotgun barrel exploding? Obviously catastrophic malfunctions happen (like squibs) but given this is my first experience reloading I just want to know how easy it is for a messed up reloaded shell to become dangerous. waaa2 I have a little concern that one of these new "tight" wads made it into the batch of reloads I did today. Don't know whether that is dangerous.

4651feeder

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Oct 21, 2016
    East of NWI