• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Slow Hand

Master
    Rating - 99.3%
    146   1   0
    Aug 27, 2008
    West Side
    There are a few folks on here who know, have experienced and understand the advantages and limitations of a shotgun for an offensive/defensive firearm choice. I believe you to be one of those folks and I can spot those who aren't from a mile away....it is usually good for a laugh though.:):

Stop it; you're making me blush! I'm not very experienced but I have at least patterned my HD gun at realistic distances and have done some practice and competition. That and I've got the Magpul video so I guess I'm close enough to an expert for the 'net!

jtull01

Plinker
    Rating - 92.3%
    12   1   0
    Sep 15, 2011
    NWI
    Hi Folks,
    Thanks for the lively responses to my thread.
    I'm looking forward to re-experienceing my use of the 870.
    The ammo question was answered, so slugs through a smooth bore are OK for non accuracy work.

My real experience goes back 33 years, when I was a police officer. We were having a rash of thefts out of the penned yards of our auto dealers. We had a sting set up. It was summer, the radio call went out and I heard a suspect coming down towards my position. I emerged from a crouch behind a car, I caught his face with the end of my Remington 870. He had the goods in his hands. I remember his eyes twitching left and right, I said to him; "Please, go ahead and run, I won't miss at this range!"
    Needless to say he layed on the ground with wet pants.

Course My heart was about to pop too.

Power of the shotgun?

It does have a decisive effect, and of course with 00, a devastating close range weapon.
    :soapbox:
    :ingo::patriot:

esrice

Certified Regular Guy
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Jan 16, 2008
    Indy
    Hi Folks,
    Thanks for the lively responses to my thread.

I realize I never actually answered your OP.