• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TWalker

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 31, 2010
    New Castle
    1. How many of you blue loctite the chokes in? I've noticed that it seems to need tightened throughout the day of shooting.

2 What chokes are used for shooting slugs through a normal barrel? I normally just swap the barrels for my other pump shotguns. I know a lot of guys shoot slugs through a normal barrel. Is someone willing to school me on this?

3. How many of you have done modifications to your own shotgun? I'm not sure if I'm ready to take a dremel to my versamax. Are there any local gunsmiths that can open the loading port/weld lifters etc.?

4. What do you all keep on the chokes to keep them from rusting? I've also seen the exposed bare metal on modified shotguns and I'm wondering how they don't rust.

Yes I'm a noob with a shotgun.

Last edited:

warthog

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    66   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Vigo County
    no loctite on chokes. bad idea. Just keep them tight.

some companies make a slug choke but whatever you do don't shoot a slug without a choke in barrel. Slugs are for slug barrels.

keep the chokes clean and oiled but not too much oil. shouldn't rust that way. Chokes shouldn't rust period IME.

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest
    Imp cyl seems the most popular for shooting Foster slugs.
    Some folks do better with a Modified choke.
    They make rifled ones, that can help...........but they might lead rather quickly (hey it's easy to unscrews and clean and put back in).

Slug barrels are typically short, due to heavy recoil/slow velocity projectile (reduced shooter input).

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest
    Shooting with the choke tube in..............is a good idea.
    Fine and shallow threads don't need contaminates.