Sig P229 vs P226? I have numerous questions...

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • EFriesel

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 26, 2024
    Lawrence County
    I have some experience shooting the P226 (both Mk25 and Legion) - probably sub 300 rounds over the past decade years.

For the longest time I've wanted a P226 but recently have been eyeing the P229 instead. It seems the only differences are slide/grip length, weight, and capacity - most of which seem like minor differences.

Does anyone having experience with both have any preferences? I'm not against using the P229 as a CCW but I already carry a P365X (half the weight) and don't need to replace it. I want a larger gun for non-CCW purposes.

Less weight theoretically means less recoil - how noticeable is this?
    Are there any other major differences? Price?
    I've heard some dialogue about the long vs. short extractors. Any thoughts on this?

I'm probably going to have to get my hands on them at a store/range to really know but was hoping I could be enlightened a little beforehand. I appreciate any feedback!

Edit: I meant more weight means less recoil, just typed it out wrong whoops!

Last edited:

Creedmoor

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 10, 2022
    Madison Co Indiana
    I own a few of both in 9mm and 40,357 Sig.
    If I were to carry one today with those to choices, it would be a 229 just because its a bit smaller.
    If it was just bought to sit in a safe and shoot paper with I would buy the 226 series pistol.