Sights on Slide or not for Glock Open Class?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LLDJR

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Sep 2, 2009
    Southside/Southport
    Just started looking into sights for a Glock Open Class pistol. Is this just a preference choice? Slide-Ride or Frame mount? I am new to this Open Class stuff, so I will keep looking

SJC_Conv_Compensator_Mount.jpg

Open+Glock+34-1c.jpg

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    while i am not a competitor in that category, and i dont know if your question is actually whether its legal or not. common sense to me would say you would want your sight in a fixed spot. i just believe it will be easier to maintain visual contact w/ a sight thats not moving as much. there is no way you can keep focus on a sight on the slide during recoil, therefore everytime the slide goes back into battery you have a very brief moment when you are refocusing on it. may not amount to much, and there are probabably other variables that will would effect follow up shots more, but thats my .02 take it or laugh at it and leave it.

LLDJR

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Sep 2, 2009
    Southside/Southport