• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Edarotag

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    I'm new to the hobby/Carry lifestyle. I've fired shotguns and rifles since I was old enough to handle them, but I'm new to pistols. I've shot some with friends and I have spent a few months educating myself, but I think it's time for the next step.
    I've submitted my application for my License to Carry, and it's coming up on (actually a week or two past...) the time that "they" said I should expect it to arrive. I'm not concerned on if it will arrive, I am not a criminal... I know it will come, I'm just hoping it'll be soon.

Whatever I buy first, I plan on shooting as often as possible, ammo availibility provided. I really want two styles of handgun, a subcompact 9mm and a .22 target pistol. I'm thinking that if I had both, I would shoot the .22 more often because of the obvious cost of ammo.

Which pistol should I purchase first?
    My gut answer is a subcompact 9mm.. I'll shoot it as often as possible, plus once i receive my license, I can carry it. I think of a .22 as more of a recreational or training pistol, and most of the target .22s are too big to conceal.

Based on my research, taking reliability and price into consideration, my frontrunners for the 9mm are the Kel Tec pf9 and the Ruger LC9. I like the fact that the pf9 has a small rail that Icould pop a light on at night and place in my nightstand.
    As far as .22s, I've come [-this-] close to purchasing a MkIII 22/45. Aside from that I'd consider a Buckmark... And people have told me to stay away from the new Neos.

Opinions?

nsheepdog

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 13, 2010
    Carmel, IN
    Buy the 9mm first. You can CC it and shoot at the range as well. Get the .22 target pistol second because it is more specialized. My opinion.

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 15, 2012
    Southern Indiana