• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 28, 2014
    warsaw
    I am relatively new at carrying, and have just started alternating my 2 original magazines. I switch back and forth once a month so the springs can take a break. Is this a good habbit? Or does it even matter? What do you do?

bluewraith

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 4, 2011
    Akron
    Spring wear comes from the spring working. Loaded or unloaded storage will be fine. You'll notice on new magazines that they can be pretty tight to load the last couple of rounds in, but then free up after you shoot through them a few times. It'll take a loooong time to wear one out under normal usage.

danmdevries

Master
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Apr 28, 2009
    Top Left Corner
    What hurts springs is a dynamic load. I.E. loading/unloading. A static load doesn't have any effect on your springs. Whether it be loaded/unloaded, it doesn't matter. The only thing that wears them out is use, so either keep em loaded or keep em unloaded.

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 28, 2014
    warsaw
    I use other magazines for practicing, and i take them apart sometimes to wipe off gun powder residue. But since i dont with the magazines i carry, i can leave them full all the time? I keep my firearm clean and well oiled, i guess i expect some kind of need for magazine maintenance as well...

Disposable Heart

Grandmaster
    Rating - 99.6%
    246   1   1
    Apr 18, 2008
    Greenfield, IN
    Will add a caveat: Depends on the spring metal. Some springs are cheaply made and will "take a set" after sitting loaded. I've seen that on cheap mags or cheap pistols.