• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ccomstock001

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 22, 2014
    Shelbyville
    Recently I have been considering making a change in careers but I am finding it difficult trying to decide what to do. I work in the restaurant industry and lately I have become tired of missing out on doing normal life stuff and only working for peanuts.

To those that have made a change what helped you decide to do it and what to charge to? I should mention that I don't necessarily hate what I do but this industry is known for working while others are off.

Last edited:

IndyDave1776

Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jan 12, 2012
    This is one of those times when a person has to answer a question with more questions:

1. What do you really want out of life. I mean the end, not the means--what do you want your life to be about, not so much the job that (hopefully) enables you to accomplish that. It is like a wise gunsmith advised me once when I considered a gun shop--don't get into the gun business because you like guns, do it because you can make money, otherwise don't. If you can't make money with them, do something else and buy the guns you like with the money you make.

In my case, I want to play farmer, spend time with my alpacas, and live a relatively stress-free life. Right now, I am dependent on the family business, which happens to be trucking, to supply me with the resources to work my way toward that end.

2. What types of work do you think you may like. It is important, as I have learned the hard way, not to say 'well, anything but what I am doing' much in the same fashion of voting 'anyone but [Democrat]'. If you can find a line of work that goes hand in hand with your larger life goals, by all means go for it, but what is tolerable that will enable those goals?