• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jimb

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Aug 11, 2012
    Cicero
    I am new to the AR platform....just got my first one recently....after peppering a fellow INGo member with endless questions about the endless options. Thanks again Bud for the help!
    I understand that Pmag & Gi mags seem to be the universally agreed upon best mags out there, but I am wondering what are the issues with cheaper mags such as the Thermo type mags I received with the purchase? Is it just cheap/weak springs, or are there other issues out there?

BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    Weak springs and followers that tilt and bind causing misfeeds and failures to feed. Look for "anti-tilt" followers, but I'm not sure if I've seen a mag for sale recently that wasn't anti-tilt.

genXer

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    USGI mags are cheap, so are magpul anti tilt followers... I've never had a problem with that combo

Tula47

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    Jun 28, 2013
    Knox Co.
    I run Troy, USGI and Pmags, Troy works well in my aks with AR mag adapters the other two.. not so much. So I have a ton of Troy mags because they work in everything I own. I also have probably 20 MSAR mags that I like, but they haven't been tested to the extremes like the others have

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In