• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • benjaminlee06

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jun 11, 2012
    Downtown Indy
    I just moved back to Indianapolis from Cincinnati, where my wife and I were for the last two years. Prior to move I had, and still have, an IN lifetime carry permit. I took a course and got the Utah permit before moving to Cincinnati so that I would be covered. With the move back I just got done updating my address with Utah and the IN State Police. With my Utah permit, is there any need to carry my IN permit on me? Or can I just carry my Utah permit? If I can would there be any reason to carry both? Thanks!

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Indiana law was recently updated, and you are no longer required to CARRY your license, only to BE licensed.

As an Indiana resident, I don't believe your Utah permit means much here. Residents must have an IN LTCH, not a non-resident permit from another state.

That said, life may be easier if you just keep the LTCH in your wallet. On the off chance a cop wants to see it, rather than call you in.

I have both in my wallet. Love using my UT permit as a second photo ID. :D I also leave my wallet at home a lot (on accident, or on purpose - hard to tell), and don't sweat it.

injb

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jul 17, 2014
    Indiana
    As far as I know most states that recognize out of state licenses only recognize them for people who are not residents. Otherwise everyone could just go for the cheapest/easiest one and not bother getting a license from their own state.

chipbennett

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 18, 2014
    Avon
    Indiana law was recently updated, and you are no longer required to CARRY your license, only to BE licensed.