What's the best designated marksman type scope?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shortkyle

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 27, 2013
    Chesterton, IN
    I just got a new AR-15. It's a 20" length and I'm looking for more of a designated marksman type scope for it. I'm new to the whole rifle thing so any input will help! I just spend a TON on a little over 1,000 .223/5.56 rounds and I just got out of the Army so I'm collecting unemployment for now and fairly "broke." Also, could you guys list some of the brands who make the parts? I know the lower is Rock River Arms and the upper is a custom made piece. I got it exactly the way the pictures show. It's never been shot, still has the tag on it. I'm contemplating taking it and my green tips to the Blue Chip on Saturday for the CPI show and seeing what I could get for it. As far as I know, I got it for a steal.

Edit - I know the flip up sights and the grip since I bought them when I bought the rifle.

image1gv.jpg

image2vtz.jpg

image3jau.jpg

image4vqt.jpg

image5jaq.jpg

Thanks guys,

Kyle:yesway:

Last edited:

Echelon

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 8, 2012
    ...could you guys list some of the brands who make the parts? ....

Looks like a SOPMOD stock (probably B5), Spikes Rail, US Palm grip, Magpul AFG, barrel I'm not sure, but it should be labeled. Any marking on the upper not pictured, like under the Magpul MBUS?

Echelon

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 8, 2012
    Okay, the rail is off. The barrel has no markings on it. It is dimpled the entire length.