What's the best lock for a folding knife?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • illini40

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 28, 2010
    I am very new to knives, but from my brief experience, a frame lock probably fits that definition.

A frame lock is very sturdy and stable, but I can see where a liner lock has its perks.

Bradsknives

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    Greenfield, IN.
    Axis, Framelock, and Compression lock...........flip a coin, all of these are tough/strong.

Note: Cold Steel fans will tell you that the Demko Tri Ad lock is the strongest. :)

Last edited:

chezuki

Human
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    Mar 18, 2009
    Behind Bars
    Frame lock!

Because that's what I carry, and let's be honest, 90+% of all "what is best?" threads are nothing more than people listing what they have and are emotionally invested in. :)

Dean C.

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Aug 25, 2013
    Westfield
    These are in order from what I consider to be the strongest to what I consider the weakest. Note the only mechanism I have ever seen fail is a Liner Lock knife, my Titanium linered production (not the custom as they are done properly) Emerson's have both failed on me at some point. The Frame Lock is my personal favorite as because if it is properly done the mechanism is incredibly strong and very easy to manipulate one handed.

The Reeve Integral Lock
    - (Frame Lock)note to be as effective as possible the lock face has to be broken in so the titanium forms to the blade tang perfectly