• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RandomCubed

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 12, 2012
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    I have three little girls and I was wondering what age seems to be appropriate to start teaching them gun respect/gun handling. I'm not looking at taking my 5 year old to the range, but when I was 7 or so my Dad and Grandpa exposed my brothers and I to guns and we seemed to come out OK.
    Just putting it out there, looking for some opinions.

threedhuntr

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Oct 25, 2011
    Howard county
    I was in scouting for a number of years. I started shooting bb guns at the age of 7. They teach safety and we were always supervised!

I think scouting is a good route. I started my son out with an H&R 22 when he was 9. He learned to respect guns and know they were not toys, not hide them from him so he goes looking out of curiosity, not knowing them. :twocents:

DeadeyeChrista'sdad

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Feb 28, 2009
    winchester/farmland
    Bub the grandson has a cricket, A karma gift from another forum. He's 7 and got it last year at Christmas. Loves ringing steel with it. I got a kid sized model 60 years and years ago for his auntie, and when she preferred her full sized one, kept it for him and those to follow. He was a little taken aback to think there'd been a gun in the safe for him 10 years before he was born... Makes me laugh to think of the look on his face.

phishb0y

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 23, 2008
    Lawrenceburg