• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bloodman

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 4, 2011
    in your nightmares
    I plan to use my Lee classic cast press to reload 223 rem. I will be using the RCBS trimmer, I was wondering if I can trim after cleaning with the primer still in, and then go through the rest of the loading process while using the index feature of this press.

USMC_0311

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 30, 2008
    Anderson
    I plan to use my Lee classic cast press to reload 223 rem. I will be using the RCBS trimmer, I was wondering if I can trim after cleaning with the primer still in, and then go through the rest of the loading process while using the index feature of this press.

Great question! I am just getting into reloading myself and was wondering about the need to trim handgun cases. I will eventually get to .223 but first the .45. Also is their a easy way to de-prime before cleaning or is that even necessary. I used new brass the first time I used a LNL. I will be getting a new LNL in June but have a lot of brass and wanted to prep it. I have a new tumbler on the way, should be here today.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    bloodman, depends on the type of trimmer. The RCBS power trimmer I have you can leave the primer in,the Lee style with the mandrel has to be deprimed. Most of the time I tumble, then trim.

USMC, handgun cases do not need trimmed, except for .357 Sig (necked cases are the ones that need trimmed). Even on the Sig case, you'll probably get a few loadings before they need done and you'll probably loose them first or the neck will split

1$Chuck

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Sep 8, 2010
    Columbus
    I always trim after I've re-sized the brass. I would assume that working the case would stretch it a bit more although I've never measured to find out.

1$Chuck