• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ryan3030

Master
    Rating - 100%
    94   0   0
    Dec 2, 2010
    Indy
    I'm new to reloading. I got an RCBS Rockchucker single stage press for Christmas and I want to start reloading a caliber or two to learn the ropes on.

The calibers I shoot the most are .40, .45, and .223.

My questions are these.
    If you were just starting out with a single stage press, would you start with rifle or pistol ammo?

Based on the press that I have, which die set should I get? I know from my reading that I want a carbide die set.

I DO have a good reloading manual, and am reading it. (ABCs of reloading) Going to hunt down a good manual of handgun/rifle loads right now.

Classic

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   1   0
    Aug 28, 2011
    Madison County
    I have die sets from Lyman, RCBS, Hornady and Lee. They all seem to work pretty well although several do have their little quirks. I have come to like putting a taper crimp on pistol ammo and the last die set I bought from Lee came with 4 dies , a shell holder and a powder scoop. So far the set seems to work exceedingly well. Have to wait and see if it performs over the long haul like the Lyman and RCBS dies. Good luck and congratulations.

BTW, Midway had the Lee 4 die set to me in the USPS in less than 48 hours from order time!

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    Lee dies will be cheaper.
    Pistol will be easier to reload.
    Rifle will need to be trimmed (usually) plus you will need to lube them, stuck cases suck.
    Get a few different manuals, Accurate, Hogdens, Spear all have good manuals.

XtremeVel

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Feb 2, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    I would start loading for the .45 ACP for a couple of reasons.

You will realize the greater savings loading that over the other 2.