• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • imjammin

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    I'd like to keep one caliber (9mm) and I'd also like to get a 1911. Does anyone know which ones I should consider and which ones not to? So far I likethe Kimber and STI, but I've never shot either. Thanks

smith52

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 4, 2010
    Kosciusko County
    STI Trojan is my choice, I have shot the Springfield Load as well. Both shot nice, the Trojan is accurate as can be. Never got the Springfield to group as tight as the Trojan. On the less expensive side, my Dad recently purchased a Rock Island 1911 in 9mm and it shoots well. It's a fairly heavy 1911.

Jim McKalip

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Oct 16, 2009
    Cumberland
    A good 1911 in 9mm.

I've been shooting a Kimber Gold Match for a couple of years and have been real happy with it. It's accurate and feeds flat point 124 gr. Berry's bullets without problems.

I had a Springfield 9mm loaded but gave up on it because of poor accuracy.

Tamara

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 12, 2008
    Broad Ripple, near t
    I have a Para LTC in 9; it's okay with ball, but JHP rounds with shorter OALs tend to nosedive into the feedramp. It especially hates the bullets CorBon uses in their 115gr loads. (Sierra, IIRC.)

If I had to go out today and buy a 9mm 1911, I'd probably go with STI. Of the various factory 9x19 guns, they seem to have the least chance of being wretched pulsating balls of suck and fail.

venenoindy

Master
    Rating - 100%
    71   0   0
    Jul 14, 2009
    Noblesville
    I started to set up an STI Spartan 9mm for competition, it is a great option for the price. Very little recoil and has a lot of great features for the price, I recently had to have surgery on my right wrist so may be force to sell it pm me if interested.

I did added
    Ed Brown recoil plug