• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • iChokePeople

Master
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   1
    Feb 11, 2011
    I recently had the pleasure of spending a day on the range learning from John (obijohn) at Riley, and wanted to take a moment to give John a HUGE thank you. I've been wanting to get to an ACT class for a while now. The feedback here on INGO is always positive, they teach classes in locations that are very convenient for me... but my schedule just hasn't allowed it.

Now, after finally making it work, I'm left with a few thoughts.

We're really lucky to have such high quality instruction at our fingertips. I can add my voice to those singing ACT's praises. I haven't spent time with rhino or coach yet, unfortunately, but John was great. Even faced with the challenge of one shooter who was a complete novice and another who's mostly developed about 40 years of bad habits, John's experience and expertise were easily up to the task. He has a teaching style that worked very well for us, and we both definitely learned and improved in just a few short hours.

That, IMHO, is really one of the huge reasons to take professional instruction. Could you learn these things on your own, through shooting thousands of rounds, or with your shooting buddies and some youtube? Maybe. Could you learn and improve as much in, say, 4 hours, or 8 hours, as you can with a competent, experienced instructor? Not a chance. The right instructor will enable you to improve more in any given amount of time than you would have on your own, by a LONG shot.