• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Micah

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 23, 2013
    www.branham.org
    A good friend of mine wants to apply for his LTCH. He is 24 now. When he was 18 he caught someone breaking into his car and beat the crook to the point he was placed in the ICU for a week. My friend got 1 year of probation. No jail time. The crook ran and my buddy chased after him.

When he was 18 and again at 19 he got 2 separate misdemeanor for weed. 6 months probation for each offense.

If he is not eligible now, is there a time limit that will allow those issues to disappear?

Cannon762

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    50   0   0
    Apr 4, 2011
    Gas City Area
    I could be wrong here but I thought it was just felonies that stopped it. I have some friends who have been in similar situations (worse actually) and have gotten their LTCH. I'm not a lawyer so take what I'm saying with a grain of salt.

Micah

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 23, 2013
    www.branham.org
    That is what I was thinking to. Even the assault was a misdemeanor. He tried to buy a rugar yesterday. He has not been denied yet but they did put him on hold

rockhopper46038

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    89   0   0
    May 4, 2010
    Fishers
    The I.C. lays out pretty clearly who is precluded from being issued an LTCH. Without knowing what he was convicted of/pled to in the cases you mention it's pretty hard to say with any certainty.

Here's the applicable portion of the Code:

(1) has been convicted of a felony;
    (2) has had a license to carry a handgun suspended, unless the person's license has been reinstated;
    (3) is under eighteen (18) years of age;
    (4) is under twenty-three (23) years of age if the person has been adjudicated a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult; or