• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • PAMom

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 5, 2011
    I am new to reloading. Am wondering if anyone could give me some info on the ultrasonic case cleaners. My husband has a tumbler, not a huge fan of that. I have read pros and cons about these cleaners.

What is your experience? Are they worth the money? Thanks for your input.

AllenM

Diamond Collision Inc. Avon.
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    134   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    I have a cheap Harbor Freight one. It was pretty much a waste of money. Sorry I can't reaaly say about the good ones. Just don't get the Harbor Freight one for brass :)

subtlesixer03

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    39   0   0
    Apr 22, 2010
    Im am wondering this as well. midwayusa has the hornady one on sale for $80 this month I believe. My house is small and the last thing I need making more noise is a tumbler.

dom1104

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2010
    I have often wondered, could I take 4 or 5 ..... uh... things that vibrate and hang them over the edge of a bucket full of cleaning fluid and see what happens the next day?

Would the fluid damage the rubber / latex? most likely.

hmm.

There has to be a cheap way of doing this.

PMY

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 21, 2008
    Mishawaka
    I also commented in the other thread, which covers a lot of ground.

I use the Hornady Magnum unit. (I think they might be coming up with an even bigger unit early next year?) But if you're going to get one, it seems to be worth it to use one with a temperature control. They work better when the water is hot.

If you're worried about noise, be aware that the ultra sonic makes noise too. Not nearly as much as a tumbler, but some. Though it's white noise and is easy to tune out.