• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Doleman1030

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 15, 2022
    Central Indiana
    I'm new to guns and a Marine buddy of mine highly recommends I buy a 1911. He seems to stand by the Rock River Arms one, saying "they're every bit as mil-spec, and work as well as a $1500 Kimber or Colt". For right now at least, I just want a night stand gun (though I'd be open to carrying it in the future), but I feel a bit overwhelmed with all the choices out there.

Another question is what's the best caliber?

drillsgt

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    108   0   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I'm new to guns and a Marine buddy of mine highly recommends I buy a 1911. He seems to stand by the Rock River Arms one, saying "they're every bit as mil-spec, and work as well as a $1500 Kimber or Colt". For right now at least, I just want a night stand gun (though I'd be open to carrying it in the future), but I feel a bit overwhelmed with all the choices out there.

It sounds like your friends a little out of touch, RRA hasn't really made a significant amount of 1911's in years, they are still in the catalog but you rarely see them and MSRP is pushing 2K now. When they first came out they were great guns and great values. The best value right now in a 'mil-spec' type simple 1911 is the SPFD Defender.

Expat

Pdub
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Feb 27, 2010
    Michiana
    Colts are pretty hard to come by right now often priced way high when you do run onto them and you really want someone familiar with a 1911 to look them over before buying as Colt has been know to produce some real turds. We are all waiting to see what they are going to start turning out, now that CZ owns them. There are not very many Kimber fans on here. I have never seen a RRA in real life around here.

Reactions: Leo

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN