• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GoBoilers!

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Sep 2, 2008
    Ok, here's the deal. I have been reloading straight-walled handgun ammo for a few years, and now I want to try some .30 caliber rifle. I have both .308 Win and 30-06 rifles, and I am just getting my feet wet with these. Since I am just learning the trade, I am not interested in high-tech bullets, just some generic bullets - probably 150 grain? I am not a sniper or long range shooter. Eventually I may work up some loads to go deer hunting, but for now I just want to try it out with some "practice" rounds to get to know the reloading part and break in my rifle skills.

Any suggestions on some bullet brands / sources for these practice rounds? I already have brass and dies, powder and primers, but if you have any pet loads that are inexpensive and good for starters, feel free to share you recipe.

Thanks!

BigMoose

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Apr 14, 2012
    Indianapolis
    If you just want to mess around with a 308 track down some German 7.62 plastic training round ammo. Cheap to fire.

edwea

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Jan 25, 2015
    New Dolan
    Pulls from a reputable source could be found for cheap and would be good for plinking. American Reloading comes to mind. In case you're thinking about the factory seconds or blems that are offered on some reloading sites, proceed with caution. I have purchased factory seconds from many of the online retailers with good results but have also found some bullets larger than bore diameter by up to .005". I only discovered this when the round wouldn't chamber. I went back and micced the remaining rounds from that batch and discovered around 12 or 15 that were too large in diameter to chamber. The pulls have never given me the same problem.

DadSmith

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0