• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • djl02

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 18, 2009
    Indiana
    I changed over to .223 and seems like it varies .07 to 1 grain. Is this about the best it will do? I'm fairly new to reloading,so just want to get some facts.
    I took the powder feeder apart and polished it on the inside,now slick as glass,but its still 25.7 grains one time and 26.0 then maybe 26.6. Anything else I can do to get the tolorances down?

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    Varget is one of the hardest powders to get it to meter correctly... not much you can do outside the normal little tricks... ball powders work way better in progressives where you are not weighing each individual charge.

djl02

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 18, 2009
    Indiana
    Thats what I ended up doing,weighing each round. Makes it a long process. Might have to try a different powder next time. I have around 8 1/2lbs of Varget left though. By the way, what do you consider exceptable,variant per round?

dom1104

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2010
    I can tell you that the Hornady LNL powder measure meters varget very well. .1 grain variance.

I would consider 1 grain to be unacceptable imo.

Prometheus

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    Dom1104 is right on. You should be looking at .1gr

For example my SDB throws either 4.5 or 4.6 on my .45acp loads using bullseye. Now is it my press or my scale? Could be either one. I don't screw with it as I'm fine with either charge. After 1,500 rounds, it's still either 4.5 or 4.6 grains per load. Very consistent.

Aszerigan

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    337   0   0
    Aug 20, 2009
    Bean Blossom, IN
    I can tell you that the Hornady LNL powder measure meters varget very well. .1 grain variance.