• ...and so much more!
  • sapper83

Marksman
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 26, 2024
    Valparaiso
    I need some help here! I am fairly new to reloading 556/2 23. I have dang near 10k cases, Wife thinks im nuts.

Anyway!!!! I have loaded mainly a all rounds for a 223 charge so far and got that dialed in.

Here is the question! CAN YOU LOAD A 223 CASE TO A 556 CHARGE?

And...... if not! Does anyone know a way to look up head stamps to verify 556 vs 223 cases? I have seperated anything that says 556 or has the nato stamp out and assume they are 556. Anything else that doesnt have 556 or the nato stamp I just assume is 223. Am I off base here? Have i been doing it wrong?! :nailbite:

INP8riot

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 17, 2023
    West Central
    5.56 cases may have a crimped primer and need swaged. The 5.56 factory cases are ever so slightly shorter in the neck to accomodate being fired in a dirty chamber so it chambers (think military usage with high round count between cleanings or dirty/dusty conditions). With a proper resize, trim, and chamber gauge check, that doesn't matter anymore.

I load .223 and 5.56 just the same. When I weigh all of my rounds after loading I'll set aside the ones that weigh slightly more. If they are military, they get the OK because the brass may be slightly thicker in 5.56. But the slightly thicker brass (less internal volume) won't add up to much if you are just making plinking loads and/or shooting off hand. I load H335 to around 3,000 fps. If you are going for precision bench shooting or pushing your loads to max psi, it will matter, but I doubt you would be using mixed head stamps if either of those scenarios apply.

Usually a google of the headstamp will give you the manufacturer of the brass.

Last edited:

55fairlane

Master
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 15, 2016
    New Haven