• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RachelMarie

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 9, 2009
    (I didn't know where to put this, so if it's needed...feel free to move this)

Yesterday was the first time in YEARS handling and shooting a gun(THANK YOU....you know who you are). As some of you know, I'm new to the *gun* scene. I've been researching now for a few months.

To get to the point, my family isn't exactly happy (by family I mean Mother and Sister). I'm hearing a lot of negativity about the possibilty of me purchasing a gun for self defense. What I hear most is, "you are more likely to be shot by your own gun". I'm really getting fed up.
    I'm not sure how to handle this. I feel very strongly about purchasing (and carrying) and I dont want to hear the crap lines they are feeeding me.

I'm not sure the reasoning behind their comments. Maybe it's because I am the baby of the family, and at 25 they refuse to think I am grown up. Or if it is because I went through a rough adolecent time. I wasn't the best behaved teenager and was in and out of trouble until I met my husband. I've had my life on track for almost 9 years now, so if that's the issue...it's old news.

What am I supposed to do here? I want my family to be okay with it. But at the same time, if they are not.....I'm still going to do this. Not for any reason other than protecting my child. I just dont get it. I want them to be as happy as I am...even my husband (who is a bit more excited for me). I seriously counldn't stop smiling yesterday after leaving the range. I finally felt that *I CAN DO THIS*....(I had a good teacher who was patient and willing to let me learn from him.)

Does anyone have advice for helping me through this situation? I just want them to believe in me. I want my daughter to be protected...hell I want to protect my husband....But I also think it is just one hell of a hobby.