• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dorky_D

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 4, 2010
    I am new to the AK world. I am looking at the AK-74s and I do not know all the varieties and how to compare them. I see some really cheap, and then there are the Arsenal ones. From what I understand, the Arsenal ones are the best. I am not sure I want to spend that much, but I am open to it if it makes sense. Can anyone tell me the differences, strengths, weaknesses... etc. I already am familiar with Arsenal, so I am good there.
    Bulgarian
    Romanian
    Polish Tantel
    I guess I am looking for the AK reliability and price, but I do not want to sacrifice accuracy either.

Thanks!

mammynun

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Oct 30, 2009
    New Albany
    1st, welcome to INGO! :ingo:

In a spin on an old theme; "excellent reliability, low price, outstanding accuracy... pick any 2." That said, if you're looking for truly accurate platform, you may want to consider something else.

Clay

Grandmaster
    Rating - 98.8%
    81   1   0
    Aug 28, 2008
    Vigo Co
    A lot of it depends on who built it.
    Arsenal is Bulgarian, but Bulgaria does not currently make any stamped receiver AKs in 5.45 for military use, so any NEW Arsenal rifle you buy in 5.45 is built specifically for the commercial market. This is NOT a bad thing, just some info.

Now, most of the Bulgy kits you see out there are actual military demils. Ive got a Troy built Bulgy 74 that I would put up against any Arsenal in terms of quality of the build, quality of the parts is a wash, but the troy build was a bit cheaper.

Personally any of the other 74s you mentioned are fine as well, just depends on who put it together.

In terms of country of origin, Im a big fan of Russian and Bulgy, which includes Saiga and Arsenal.

Mr.JAG

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Aug 26, 2010
    Indianapolis, IN