• ...and so much more!
  • turnerdye1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    63   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    North Central IN
    I need some tips and pointers.

I grew up with a decent set of carpentry skills from helping my grandpa renovate houses and since college I have moved off to the city for work. Here recently I've had the itch to get back into some sort of woodworking. I don't have the ability to go and renovate houses or anything like that but I think I want to get into furniture building.

I've ordered 100 bucks worth of books on amazon from basic craftsmanship to joints to projects. And I've got the basic sets of tools; drills, circular saw, jig saw, and what not. I've got a few tools in mind that I think I want/need but any input would help. I know I need a good set of chivels, a pull saw, a flush saw, a coping saw, #4 and #8 hand planes, router plane, shoulder plane, and a combo square. As for power tools I think I just need a hand router at this point.

Like I saw I'm new to this and am still working at getting into this. I have a small one car garage to work in so I can't take on any large projects but think I can handle some boxes and some end tables at some point.

So basically is there anything you know now that you wish you would have known when you got started?

Leadeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    I've seen some good work come out of garages. Couldn't nail two boards together straight myself, the finishing was my game.

turnerdye1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    63   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    North Central IN
    Basically from everything I read, I've learned to read and read some more. Basically you just gotta start and get better as you go.

A lathe is on my list of items to get along with a planer and jointer but I'm thinking those are gonna have to wait sadly.

AGarbers

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Feb 4, 2009
    Martinsville